Posted by: Chris | 26/04/2011

Sopa, perfected finally!

My mother in law often makes a dish whenever myself and my wife go and visit her and it has become one of my most loved dishes.  She calls it sopa or simply fideo and when I hear those words, I instantly begin to salivate in anticipation!  It is a very simple recipe and pairs well with a variety of other dishes, but it is in the preparation where it can easily be ruined.  After trying several times, I finally got it!

Start with a 12oz package of fideo noodles and crunch them while in the bag to break apart the clusters.  Once you have done that heat a large pot with a few teaspoons of oil and place noodles in.  You want to lightly toast the noodles for a few minutes.  Once toasted, then pour water in just to the top of the noodles and bring to a boil.  Drop 2 chicken bullion cubes and let dissolve.  Once those are dissolved, lower the heat and bring to a simmer.  Pour in 16oz of tomato sauce and stir to evenly distribute.

Now add cayenne pepper to taste.  This was one of the hardest parts for me in the beginning as I love heat but wife is unable to handle it as well as I can and I have finally found a happy medium for us.  Just remember, a little goes a long way.  I also sprinkle a little paprika and ground black pepper.  Let simmer for about 10-15 minutes over low heat stirring occasionally.

As I stated earlier, this dish is easily paired with a variety of other dishes and tonight we bought some sausages from the market.  Cajun andouille sausages go well as the smokey peppery flavor matches well.  Feel free to try this dish yourself!

Leave a Reply

Categories

