Posted by: Chris | 28/12/2010

Hearty Split Pea Soup

So tonight it is raining heavily and my wife suggested that I make split pea and ham soup like I did the other night.  Knowing there were some changes that she wanted made to my original recipe (which coincidentally was also my first try at making it) I involved her in the process.  What began as a somewhat basic split pea soup evolved into a hearty almost stew with larger cut vegetables.  Seeing as how my wife absolutely loved this rendition of my soup, I decided to share it with you all!

1/2 Large white onion, finely chopped

2 Cups shredded carrots

6 Stalks of celery, cut into 1/2 inch pieces

2 Cups course chopped ham

1 Cup dried split peas

2 Tablespoons olive oil

Saute the onions, carrots, celery, and ham in olive oil just long enough for the celery just to start to soften, stirring often in a large pot.

Then add the split peas and 3 1/2 cups of water and bring to a boil.  Let boil for 5 minutes then lower heat and let simmer for 45 minutes while covered, stirring occasionally.


Remove from heat and spoon into your favorite bowl and enjoy!  My wife has told me that from now on, this is how I should prepare this soup!

Responses

  1. So great to know you are still trying new ways to find that “perfect” recipe. And knowing too, that new paths will lead you to others.


Leave a Reply

Categories

